Data byline: “Who works the most hours MPs or teachers?” – The Guardian

Screen Shot 2013-05-05 at 23.10.24

Probably the data byline I am happiest with so far – it was pretty fun to come out with an opposite conclusion to what I expected coming into it. I was sure it would upset some teachers but I was pretty careful with my numbers and, I think, fair to both MPs and teachers in how I analysed it. A few people criticised me in the comments for not including the amount of hours that teachers work during the holiday compared to MPs. But just to re-emphasise what I said in the article:

It was not clear in the Hansard Society research how much MPs were working during the recess but a similar survey in 1983 by SSRB found that MPs were doing a 42 hour week compared to the 69 hours they were doing while Westminster was sitting. It is also unclear how much teachers are working during their 13-week break.

Leave a Reply

